top of page

Chay-Chay - "2021"

Chay-Chay amplifies her voice in means of empowering women across the globe. At the age of sixteen, she's received several accolades, from creating her fashion line Chay-Chay Fashion & Beauty, a record label titled MeloDream Records/Intercept Universal, and catching the eye of Hot97's DJ Drewski and Bamdacity from MDE Radio.


Not to mention, the young star has performed at MDE Namaste Experience.

Within the context of her lyrics, she pushes the notion of being self-sufficient and loving yourself. Chay-Chay adds, "I would like my legacy to be Chay-Chay's empowerment. I want to build a platform, to be a voice for young women through my music and fashion line."


Chay-Chay is an accomplished singer, songwriter, dancer, actor, and fashion designer. Chay-Chay's mother, a huge inspiration of hers, overheard Chay-Chay 's distinctive vocal pattern at nine years old.



Because she believed in Chay-Chay’s talent, Stephanie helped connect her with important musical figures who could transform her secret passion into a successful career.

The writing process for Chay-Chay is unique and creative. She continues, “Writing has always been my meditation. When I get in the studio, I get highly energized and confident with my sound. I have the mindset that my lyric may uplift everyone.” During the rise of COVID-19, Chay-Chay wrote and recorded her first single, “2021,” produced by MeloDream Records/Intercept Universal. In hindsight, “2021” highlights the singer’s unbreakable spirit as she expresses the highs and lows she’s endured. Also, “2021” serves as an uplifting song for those discouraged about where they’re heading.


Chay-Chay taps into a soft register when speaking about blocking out hate thrown her way. At the beginning of “2021,” she talks about always keeping it 100. Then, she opens up about those who didn’t believe in her musical journey. Despite the naysayer’s opinions, she brushed it off and kept going.


I was low but I had to move to the top,” she sings. “Held my head up high/Never gonna stop.


Since birth, she’s been fly and actively working. Instead of focusing on others, she channels that energy into herself. What’s important in this current time is her future.


The opps only sneer at her because they’re secretly invested in her career.




She sings,

Haters are a fan of me/I’m feeling myself constantly.”

Chay-Chay credits her mom for pushing her to excel.


She says this crucial line also, “Some people are just who they are/Wait and see wait and see who Chay-Chay came to be.


All-in-all 2021 is hers for the taking. She recites lyrics about taking the bad with the good. Also, Chay-Chay declares that no one can tear her down. No matter what, she’s going to elevate and stay true to herself.


Watch the music video for “2021” here:

16 views0 comments
bottom of page